Skip to content
July 21, 2011 / kat uppman

Also….

I have really grown to enjoy running.  I love reading books about running.  I obsess over my training plans.  I talk about races constantly with Erik.  I get a thrill out of calling myself a runner.  The act of running, however, is still painful and something I just try to get through each morning.  If I can get myself out of bed and out on my 2, 3, 5 miles run, then I get to pick a cross training ‘fun’ activity for the evening.

Cross training can be just about anything that keeps you moving but works different muscles on your body.  If you’re serious about training for a specific type of race, you will want your cross training time to be very focused.  If you are just looking to keep moving and add some more activity to your day, you have a huge range of options.  Here are some of my favorites:

Crossfit– This is a workout program that gives you intense workouts in short periods of time.  The movements use muscle confusion to keep your body from getting too fatigued during the WODs (workouts of the day).

Insanity / PX90– Two similar workout programs, meant to step up your cardio endurance and strength training.  My good friend and I are about to start the 30 day Insanity challenge, holding each accountable to the workout plan.  This is something you could do each day, or bring in to your plan a few times a week.

Biking- Working on your biking technique is crucial if you are training for a triathlon, as I found out during my last race.  While it’s easy to think you’ll do well because you are comfortable when riding, it’s hard to keep your speed up during the longer distances.  I have my bike set up on a trainer in our living room so I can hop on at night and get some mileage in without worrying about a route on the roads around town.

Swimming- This is another crucial training element if you are working towards a triathlon, but also a relaxing treat even if you aren’t.  Erik and I are working on our front crawl form, so we are studying YouTube videos created by swimming coaches before each trip to the community pool.  Grab your goggles and suit and enjoy a refreshing treat while sculpting your arm and back muscles!

Hill sprints- Living in CA, we are surrounded by hills.  There is a HUGE .3 mile hill right outside of our house, and sometimes Erik will make me run it 3 times in a row.  That’s 1.8 miles of steeeep incline both ways, for those without a calculator.  My legs are screaming by the time I’m finished.  In fact, I can’t even make it a third of the way up the hill before I have to walk/crawl.  My goal is to someday be able to run all three sprints without stopping.

Track sprints- In reading both of my recent running books, the authors couldn’t stop stressing the importance of track sprints.  If you want to build your speed in a running race, you have to work on running shorter distances FAST. I don’t claim to be an expert on what these workouts are, but if you Google ‘track workouts for distance runners’, you will find a variety of plans.

Beach running/walking- Sand provides a great resistance to your muscles (see Sand post….).  If you find yourself at the beach this summer, take a few minutes and make yourself jog to the lifeguard tower.  Then to the blue towel about 30 yards down.  Then to the buoy even further away.  And then back again.  What a great workout!

Rowing/Paddle Boarding- These activities are huge in the Bay Area right now.  Both really work your arms, shoulders and core muscles.  And you get to spend time in the sun and out on the water.  I’ve put off learning to paddle board because it’s so trendy, but I think I’m giving in this weekend-it just looks too fun not to try!

Yoga/Pilates- My office actually has a Yoga instructor come by each Monday and Wednesday evening to lead a class for anyone who wants to join.  I keep thinking I should stop by-stretching your muscles and working on core balance is extremely helpful when working on a training program.

As you can see, there are more ideas than there is time for!  Each evening I have to pick just one, making it a treat to look forward to all day long.  Looking to add some cross training to your fitness program?  Check out the Cross Training tab above and use the cards to insert these activities in to your weekly plan.  I’ll create more Crossfit workout cards each week.  What cross training do you love to do?

Working on strength training at Crossfit.

Today’s miles: Rest day

Pace: N/A

Total weekly miles: 8

Total miles since getting back on the bandwagon: 8

Crosstraining: 40 burpee box jumps, 400 single jump ropes, 15 overhead push presses (75 lb max)

Leave a comment